It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 12:41 pm

A little help wanted

Any thing to do with mapscape, post and read about it here.
  • Author
Wolfyboy

A little help wanted

PostTue Apr 22, 2014 1:36 am

Hello guys, I'm new to DarkBasic Pro. I've downloaded Map Scape about a week ago and I love how it looks and feels like one of those old BSP editors that I've worked with for so long (Quake, Half-Life 1 and 2). However, I do have a couple of basic (no pun intended :lol: ) questions that don't seem to get answered anywhere, through Google searches ór on TGC forums.

How do I get the textures of my map to work in DarkBasic Pro? I tried loading a simple map into DBP, and while it did show my map (and even showed the baked lighting that I've inserted) it doesn't show any of the textures that I applied. Do I need to have some sort of special texture folder in my project's folder? Loading the effect-file also doesn't work, and the compiler tells me that the file doesn't exist, so I'm guessing I'm missing some files.

This next one isn't really a question, but rather a bug report: almost always after using Map Scape for about ten minutes, regardless of what I'm doing, the program creates an error message saying that it needs to close. The error message asks if it should save the map's progress, but doing so will resort in the file's contents being deleted. After that the program closes (obviously). I'm running a Intel Core 2 Duo with 4 GB RAM, ATI Radeon 7700 HD and Windows 7 64 bit.

I hope you guys can help a newbie like myself out. Map Scape looks like a great tool, and its really nice to see how much the community has done for DBP and it really helps people like myself who are trying to get into game programming.

Samkm

Re: A little help wanted

PostThu Apr 24, 2014 7:13 pm

Hey! Sorry for a slow reply!
How do I get the textures of my map to work in DarkBasic Pro?