It is currently Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:20 am


Advanced Lighting (its still wip)

For every thing to do with shaders.
  • Author
  • Message

ilsanto74

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:22 am

Re: Advanced Lighting (its still wip)

PostThu Apr 24, 2014 11:32 am

I can try a file. exe if it works?
So let's see if it is a problem of graphics card (GeForce 9600 GT)

ilsanto74

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:22 am

Re: Advanced Lighting (its still wip)

PostThu May 01, 2014 1:31 pm

I did various tests but does not work. Not even the latest version.
Can I have a. Exe to try?

ilsanto74

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:22 am

Re: Advanced Lighting (its still wip)

PostThu May 15, 2014 7:48 pm

nothing aid ?

ilsanto74

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:22 am

Re: Advanced Lighting (its still wip)

PostMon Jun 23, 2014 7:55 am

why ?
Attachments
screen.jpg
screen.jpg (125.58 KiB) Viewed 6077 times
User avatar

EVOLVED

Site Admin

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 7:52 am

Re: Advanced Lighting (its still wip)

PostMon Jun 23, 2014 3:19 pm

I'm unsure what could be the cause of this issue, I only have one pc setup for testing. I have tested the ALS on 3 other (not mine) computers and the system seems to work fine on all of them. I have a hunch that the use of "DepthBias" in the lighting shaders might be the cause. Can you open the directional light shader "11.fx" and remove any line with "DepthBias=(0,1);" and test the terrain sample to see if it makes a difference.

ilsanto74

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:22 am

Re: Advanced Lighting (its still wip)

PostMon Jun 23, 2014 8:44 pm

:D GREAT! now it seems to work. Thank you!
Attachments
screen2.jpg
screen2.jpg (222.63 KiB) Viewed 6072 times

ilsanto74

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:22 am

Re: Advanced Lighting (its still wip)

PostMon Jun 23, 2014 9:12 pm

works only Terrain.dbpro and Palm Tree.dbpro. everyone else is still the same.
I removed "DepthBias=(0,1);" from all the shaders.
Attachments
screen3.jpg
screen3.jpg (139.39 KiB) Viewed 6071 times
User avatar

just1

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:04 pm

Re: Advanced Lighting (its still wip)

PostMon Jun 23, 2014 9:43 pm

also remove DepthBias and now all works fine ( I was testing on laptop with Intel graphics card ). What is using of this command ? Lighting don't change after removing it
User avatar

EVOLVED

Site Admin

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 7:52 am

Re: Advanced Lighting (its still wip)

PostTue Jun 24, 2014 3:00 pm

OK, so now I know depth bias is causing the issue. I'll do some messing to see if I can come up with a solution with out using it, which was used for overriding the render order (if you look closely there is no sky object as its being overwritten by directional light object).

Can you do a little test for me, where DepthBias=(0,1); was can you add DepthBias=1; see if that works.

Little screeshot on a 3dcloud prototype.
Attachments
cloud wip.png
cloud wip.png (1.28 MiB) Viewed 6063 times

ilsanto74

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 11:22 am

Re: Advanced Lighting (its still wip)

PostTue Jun 24, 2014 5:08 pm

I tried to remove all rows where there is DepthBias = (0,1);
I tried to replace it with DepthBias = 1;
I tried to write DepthBias = (0,1); DepthBias = 1;
but always the same, all black.
PreviousNext

Return to Shaders



cron